4A49DB17-76A6-4388-9CE5-23D469571039.jpe

I remember first working with Evan when he was 14 years old.  He had loads of talent and was a fiery competitor but often times let his emotions get the best of himself.  Talking with him today, it is amazing to see the growth on the baseball field but more importantly the giant steps he's taken in his maturation as a person.  It is so great seeing him have all the success he's having at the division 1 level.  He is currently 3rd in the NCAA division 1 in strikeout to walk ratio and currently leading NDSU and the entire Summit League in strikeouts per 9 innings pitched.  Evan went the Junior College route out of Appleton North High School at Iowa Lakes Community College.  He is a blue collar kind of kid and all the success he's had, he has earned every bit of it.  I'm proud to call him a former player and I look forward to continuing to watch his success over the next few years.

 

*What is your favorite baseball memory from your club/travel baseball experience?

"I can’t pick out a specific moment, I would say I always look forward to every summer being able to travel to new places and play ball with the boys. It was always the highlight of my summers."

 

*What’s your favorite thing or aspect about college life?

"The fact that the college life is based on yourself. There isn’t anyone telling you what you have to do which leads to a lot of self discipline." 

 

*What’s your least favorite thing or aspect about college life?

"Your mistakes are magnified. With you being the one that has to pay for it and show up for it, you have less room for error if you want your degree on time, or in the sports aspect, being eligible to play." 

 

*What’s one thing you wish you would have known going into college?

"I wish I would have known that its not as much pressure as it's told to be. High school made it seem a lot more scary than it is."

 

*Who’s been your biggest influence on your life to this point?

"I would have to say my parents. They have allowed me to grow and be the person I am throughout this whole process which makes my life a lot easier."

 

*What advice would you give to younger baseball players who want to play at the collegiate level?

"Make sure that you can go somewhere where you will play or compete for the job. Going division one is obviously the goal but if you can go somewhere like a JUCO for a couple years and PLAY and DEVELOP, that is way more useful than sitting the bench and practicing.

 

I would also advise traveling to playing summer ball away from home. I think you meet a lot of great guys and going and exploring is always a cool experience to go do." 

 

*What are you majoring in?

"I am majoring in Civil Engineering."

 

*How did playing club/travel baseball prepare you for college baseball?

"Playing club ball allowed me to play with amazing people and players that wanted to play the game of baseball. They not only made me a better player but a better person as well." 

 

*What is something people may not know about you?

"I play lots of video games, when I’m not working or playing sports I am most likely gaming it up." 

 

*Where do you see yourself in 10 years?

"I hope to be working as an engineer continuing to grow my career for the future."